Nicole In A Nutshell

June 12, 2009

Back by popular demand

Filed under: Blog News,It's All About Me,Randomness — by Nicole @ 7:23 pm

Well how-dee-do! It’s been a while, hasn’t it? Momma’s been busy, but she’s back to entertain you lovelies. Just dawned on me that it’s been about 2 months since my last post, and that’s way too long. I still haven’t fully unpacked the new place (can I still even call it new anymore? Jury’s still out on that), and am looking forward to the day when it gets accomplished. Unfortunately, there’s no ETA on that since it involves getting my lazy ass up and doing the work. Meh.

Since my last post, I’ve been bored at work, gone to see Phish a bunch of times (!!!), and, well, nothing else really sticks out in my mind. I beg of you, don’t be too jealous of my uber-exciting life.

So let’s pick up where we left off and pretend that my little hiatus never happened. Random and/or obscure movies that you so need to own. My list starts with the following, in no particular order:

Center Stage: the story of a girl and her journey through the hard knock life of NYC ballet. Campy delicious goodness.

Troop Beverly Hills: Phyllis Nefler. ‘Nuff said.

Love Story: maybe not so obscure, but sweet jesus this is the best PMS film ever put on celluloid. Bonus feature: rough and tumble college hockey!

Death Becomes Her: star-studded ridiculousness, featuring Meryl Streep, Goldie Hawn, Bruce Willis and Isabella Rosselini. A cult classic.

Mother, May I Sleep With Danger/Death Of A Cheerleader*/Friends ‘Till The End: Never heard of them? Well, shame on you! The Academy snubbed these three gems, which are Lifetime Originals starring the illustrious former stars of the greatest show ever aired on television. I speak, of course, of “Beverly Hills, 90210.” The first two feature the most radiant natural beauty America has to offer, one Victoria “Tori” Spelling. The third flick is headlined by none other than Brenda Walsh herself, the thespian goddess that is Miss Shannen Doherty.

*Ummm, holy crap. A commercial for “Death Of A Cheerleader” just came on while I was writing this very section. It’s an obscure enough movie to make that reeeeally creepy. My DVR might reject it like a bad transplant organ, but I’ll be damned if that isn’t going to be on my watch list for the weekend.

Your turn, in the comments.

1 Comment »

  1. I LOVE Death Becomes Her. I would like to submit the following for your more, uh, adventurous, cinemaphiles.

    The best cult classics you’ve never heard of:

    Blood for Dracula: Udo Kier + Joe Dallesandro + absolutely ridiculous dialogue = quirky, raunchy deliciousness. TMC has been running this and Flesh for Frankenstein lately (which makes me giggle) so you can DVR them if they run again.

    Pink Flamingos: John Waters’ most notorious exercise in poor taste, with some of the worst acting and best one-liners ever uttered. NOT for the faint of heart, or anyone who has recently eaten.

    Desperate Living: My personal favorite John Waters’ film. It’s a fairy tale on a bad trip, starring the ever-fantabulous Edith Massey as the evil Queen Carlotta. It’s got everything a fairy tale needs: glory holes, rabies, and cannibalism.

    Comment by Susita — June 12, 2009 @ 8:12 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

