Nicole In A Nutshell

March 31, 2009

You like me…you really like me!

Filed under: It's All About Me,Randomness — by Nicole @ 10:14 pm

This here blog got a record number of hits today, so thank you!!! I still find it kind of surreal that you want to hear what I have to say, but I’ll keep on truckin’ as long as you keep reading 🙂

As I’ve said before, I love topic suggestions, and one was sent my way today. The request, which arrived via text, was as follows: “Why do homeless people like Starbucks? Can you blog about that?” Well, J…your wish is my command. Unfortunately, there is a pretty short answer to that query (at least as far as my theorizing goes). People who pay $5 for a cup of coffee are likely more apt to have some spare change in their pockets than the peeps buying a cheap cup of joe from a bodega, so I imagine that the more entrepreneurial residentially-challenged folk would set up shop at the ‘Bux. You go where the money is, and it isn’t just the less fortunate members of society who abide by this approach.

On a completely different note, here’s my take on a topic of my own choosing based on a very interesting experience I had this evening. After meeting with some hardcore Orthodox pro bono clients in Boro Park, my colleague and I went for a quick dinner. Being both a Super-Jew and a dude, my colleague felt right at home. I, however, did not. When I got dressed this morning, I thought my attire was professional, tasteful and appropriate, but the fact that my suit involved pants really bit me in the ass tonight.

Have you ever gotten the stink eye from children in strollers while their parents whispered about and stared at you like you were some sort of exotic animal? I have. I made my co-worker go pick up my dinner because I didn’t want to face the awkwardness of getting up and revealing my trouser-wearing ways.

Now, I realize that I was an outsider in their community (despite my own technical Jewiness), but I have to take issue with the fact that while I was being treated like some sort of sideshow act, the male cashier was rocking a yarmulke/muscle shirt combo. What gives? After consulting the only uber-Jew in my inner circle, the only response I received was, and I quote: “guys and girls…not the same.” Well, thank you Captain Obvious. I’ve sat through “the talk” and at the tender age of 30, know enough about the birds and the bees. What I don’t understand is the raging double standard that no one seems able to explain to me. As such, I am officially calling BS on the freakshow treatment. That isn’t meant to offend anyone (at least not any more than I was offended by this experience). If you are in fact offended, I welcome your comments, and more so, your explanations. I’d particularly like to hear perspectives on how “judge not les ye be judged” kicks in here. I may be rusty, but I’m pretty sure that’s in the handbook. Have at it.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

