Nicole In A Nutshell

February 8, 2009

Whole lotta love

Filed under: Good Times,It's All About Me,Shopping,Steals and Deals — by Nicole @ 9:13 pm

I’ve just got to say that I am touched and humbled by the wonderful feedback you gorgeous, talented, brilliant readers have been sending my way. If y’all keep reading, I’ll keep writing. I post kind of sporadically, but will continue to try and pick up the pace as ideas flow through me. In the meantime, please feel free to suggest topics and post comments. It’s great to hear other perspectives and input.

For right now, I only have little snippets of things to say. Firstly, open house type parties never get old. Take some kickass Venezuelan food, an adorable house, and fun people, along with a lovely hostess, and you get the party I went to on Saturday in Connecticut. It’s a bonus to get out of the city and not go directly to another city, but rather to places with freestanding homes and driveways that need to be plowed by heavy duty industrial vehicles. This trip to the country, however, was an experience that none of us in the car had ever faced before. We missed our street, and were driving pretty slowly to find a place to turn around. The car behind us pulled up alongside and rolled down the window to sk if we were lost and if she could help. This was a culture shock to those of us whose first instinct upon a seeing a car sidle up would be to hit the locks.  What does that say about the vicious city that we inhabit?

Sample sale update: this one looks good, and I thought I’d share.

THEORY

Clothingline
SSS Sample Sales
261 W 36th Street
(between 7th & 8th Ave)
2nd Floor
New York, NY 10018

C L O T H I N G L I N E

FOR WOMEN
5 days, 3 late nights
All seasons
All items are final sale

Samples & ir’s
Tees $20
Sweaters $30
Shirts $35
Skirts $40
Pants $50
Dresses $50
Blazers $60
Coats $70
plus knits, bulky sweaters, shorts, jackets & more

Stock / First quality
Tees, knits & shirts from $29 – $69
Shorts, skirts & pants from $49 – $89
Dresses $99
Blazers $139

ALL SALES FINAL

Hours:

Monday February 9 10:00 am – 7:00 pm
Tuesday February 10 10:00 am – 7:00 pm
Wednesday February 11 10:00 am – 6:00 pm
Thursday February 12 10:00 am – 7:00 pm
Friday February 13 10:00 am – 6:00 pm

* Our entrance closes 15 minutes prior to close of store.
Dressing room is OPEN, but closes 30 minutes prior to close of store.

Upcoming at the same space will be Kenneth Cole:

March 2 – March 6

Monday 10:00 am – 7:00 pm
Tuesday 10:00 am – 7:00 pm
Wednesday 10:00 am – 6:00 pm
Thursday 10:00 am – 7:00 pm
Friday 10:00 am – 6:00 pm

Kenneth Cole sample sale information

  • for Men & Women
  • clothing, footwear & accessories

I’ll finish off with a tip for the ladies that came up for me this week. I have always been a skirt/dress kinda gal. For some reason, it’s just how I’ve always rolled. When I was an itty bitty nursery school diva, my mom got a call from the teacher. Despite my otherwise angelic demeanor, there was one thing they were having trouble with when it came to me: I insisted on wearing dresses all the time, even on days when I was so cold I would kind of huddle in the corner for warmth. Clearly, in my 30 years on this earth, I have learned little. I went outside with a friend at work the other day to get some fresh air, and she was awed to see me wearing a skirt and heels. Was I cold? Maybe a smidge. Was I complaining? Actually (and perhaps uncharacteristically), no. Why, you ask? well, that’s a good question. Here’s my answer (and the tip you’ve been waiting for with bated breath): the hose/tights combo. For warmth on those days where the OCD creeps into your wardrobe decisionmaking (i.e. every day for yours truly), it doesn’t get much better than this. Maybe this isn’t nearly as novel an idea I seem to think it is, but I don’t recall ever having tried this strategy before last weeek, and I’ll be damned if it wasn’t something of a life changing epiphany. Give it a try and let me know what you think. I believe I might have just created a fashion breakthrough.

2 Comments »

  1. just gotta say, the party wouldn’t have been the same without the city folks…thanks for braving the drive, the driveway, and our weird and preppy helium sucking friends. You are welcome back anytime. Gotta ask- i’m curious- have you mastered guasacaca?

    Comment by the so called lovely hostess — February 9, 2009 @ 7:38 pm

  2. You better believe that I whipped up some guasacaca today! Delicious, but not the same as yours, which was amazing.

    Comment by Nicole — February 9, 2009 @ 10:22 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

