Nicole In A Nutshell

December 16, 2008

A thing of beauty

Filed under: bitchin' and moanin' — by Nicole @ 7:30 pm
Sometimes, when it is least expected, something priceless materializes in front of you and there is no real way to truly appreciate it without sharing it with others. Readers, this morning was one of those times.
I was running extremely late for work, which resulted in the rare opportunity to snag a seat on the 4 train. As I settled in on the straggler express and readied my copy of Vanity Fair for perusal, a woman sat down next to me and pulled a paper out of her purse. Because I am both nosy and easily distracted, I peered over to see what she was reading. At that moment, it was as if a beacon of light had shone from the surface of the document, and it was glorious. I felt a tear well up in the corner of my eye (although that could have been easily attributed to the pungent stink of B.O. emanating from the gentleman sitting directly to my right). What was this precious paper, you ask? It was an MTA Employee Disciplinary Action Form.
Though I was not able to fully digest the entire account of this woman’s apparent misdeed, I was able to note that she was in fact a subway worker. It got me thinking about who this woman was and what she might have done to deserve such a reprimand. Perhaps she was one of the helpful laborers who shouts incomprehensible announcements into the station loudspeaker each day. Maybe she was one of the many ambitious booth workers who sleeps through their shift and refuses to dispense MetroCards to weary commuters. Perchance she was a conductor, one of the fearless transport workers who each day drives a train that stops short at every possible occasion, thus lurching already irate passengers into each other, and holding up trains and causing delays whilst instructing trapped and recourse-less riders to “please be patient.” Whomever she was, bitch got written up and I could not have been happier about it.

True, I do not know who this woman was, what her offense might have been, or even if managment’s story was accurate. What I was jazzed about was the fact that somewhere along the line, someone at the MTA thought about accountability for a brief, shining moment. Of course, this isn’t to say that the MTA Board or the higher-ups would ever take responsibility for the shittiness of their operation or the fact that a mere few years after they experienced a massive budget surplus we are once again being faced with service cuts and fare hikes, but it was something. It was a glimmer of hope that maybe someday, in my lifetime or beyond, the powers that be at the MTA will pull their heads out of their collective asses and do things right. I won’t hold my breath.

Stand clear of the closing doors.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

