Nicole In A Nutshell

November 11, 2008

Crazy people

Filed under: bitchin' and moanin',Issues In The News,It's All About Me — by Nicole @ 9:44 pm

Just finished watching a pretty amazing (and really fucked up) documentary on MSNBC called “Witness to Jonestown”. For those not familiar with the murders and mass suicide that occurred in Guyana in 1978, I highly recommend that you take a look at this piece. It’s the situation that created the phrase “drinking the Kool Aid” (since followers were instructed to kill themselves by drinking cyanide-laced punch) and is quite telling. More so, however, is the similarity that I see to Jim Jones and some of the fundamentalist evangelicals out there today like James Dobson and Fred Phelps. Their Kool Aid is hate speech, and people are drinking it left and right. Pretty scary, folks.

You know who else is crazy and scary? Mormons. This is a people who funded 70% of the “Yes on Prop 8” movement in California. I still don’t understand how same-sex marriage is a threat to anyone, but to provide such vehement support for a measure whose only purpose is to strip away others’ rights is truly baffling. This is a people who, because of their own practice of polygamy, had to move west and form their own state (Utah). It is only within the last century that this practice was outlawed in the official church doctrine, so maybe they are bitter that they can no longer ad wife after wife to their respective broods, but to me, they should be more sympathetic to non-traditional practices. Equally disturbing is the fact that the the Church of Latter Day Saints (puhleeze) have been and continue to attempt posthumous conversion of Holocaust victims to Mormonism. Are you fucking kidding me? I only recently found out about this situation, and I am simply dumbfounded by it. It’s not often that I’m speechless, but…

On a lighter, but no less crazy, note, I present to you a personal story of sheer nuttiness. For years, our family has split a partial season ticket package to Yankee games along with a group of family friends. The tickets are in another dude’s name, and for as long as this arrangement has been in place, we pay him in full for the package, and we get all of the tickets in return. However, this year saw a whole new ball of wax. Ostensibly because this was the last year the Bombers would be playing inthe House That Ruth Built, the guy with the seats took it upon himself to gank several sets of tickets (premium games, mind you) without paying for them, giving us notice, or even asking if we were all cool with it. As we had already paid in full for the entire ticket package, we were not at all cool with this. Since he had literally taken possession of the tickets in question before turning over the rest to us, there was little we could do other than demand our rightful money back for the lost games. By the end of the season, we had seen no cash come our way. As the designated lawyer and writer of strongly worded letters, I sent him such a letter over a month and a half ago. I recently received the response below. It’s a doozy…enjoy:

***

My apologies for not responding earlier, BUT THAT IS ALL I APOLOGIZE
FOR.  Your  communique made me so angry I was ready to go for the
throat, verbally, with the 2 so called “partners” you mentioned on 9/29/08.  I decided
to let cooler heads prevail (mostly mine).  Forward this message to
all involved.  Let them know I never REALLY got over the Aaron Boone
game, then we can take it from there.

To put this in street parlance, I feel the two supposed gentleman you
mentioned “played” me for the benefit of themselves, their families,
their friends.

SOME of the accusations and details you brought up are BLATANTLY
false, MOST INACCURATE at best.

Where I come from as a Southern gentleman and scholar, when I help
someone it is implied  that they offer something back without me
having to ask. Obviously it doesn’t work that way up here.

It depends on how far you want to take this; I still have the ticket
rights for next year and am considering renewing.  I WILL MAINTAIN THE
CONTROL OF THOSE TICKETS OR GIVE THEM UP ENTIRELY.   You and you alone
I would consider as a partner; one of the two gentleman you mentioned
is OUT completely – I will let THEM figure out who that is.

Bottom line is those two tried to “play” each other, as well as me.
Never trust someone who is a narcotics addict, or thinks that
extramarital sex is OK    You will end up hurt or embarrassed.  I will
leave it at that.

If you or they want to continue the discussion I look forward to that.

SINCERELY,

[redacted]
Southern Gentleman and Scholar

P.S. –  if you don’t vote for OB, be he Muslim or not, someone is playing YOU!

***

Can you say batshit insane??? Footnote: this response was forwarded to our entire ticket group, and not one member knew what the hell this guy was talking about in any single one of his rambling references. Judge Judy, here we come!!!

4 Comments »

  1. I hope you submitted that gem to passiveagressivenotes.com

    Comment by Josh — November 13, 2008 @ 9:34 am

  2. That guy is crazy.
    So I’ve been reading a ton about Jamestown in the Sf Chronicle. They’ve been having daily articles/retrospectives because most of the “victims”/ victims were from SF. I put victims in quotes because I wonder the innocence and sanity of someone who leaves their family, moves to Guyana with the People’s republic or whatever it was called and practices suicide drills. Now I know that a lot of these people were kept somewhat hostage, I don’t know, the whole thing was such a mess. go to sfgate.com though, there’s a bunch of cool stuff there1

    Comment by evan — November 18, 2008 @ 12:59 pm

  3. […] the outcome of the Yankee ticket drama. If you don’t recall the saga, do yourself a favor and refresh your memory…you won’t regret it. Unfortunately, our original quest to take this litigation to Judge […]

    Pingback by Crazy people…part deux « Nicole In A Nutshell — January 26, 2009 @ 9:54 pm

  4. […] a “Crazy People” update (actually, an update to the first update), because this bidness never stops! Despite […]

    Pingback by CRAZY PEOPLE, PART 3 « Nicole In A Nutshell — March 15, 2009 @ 7:52 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

