Nicole In A Nutshell

October 19, 2008

Ticketmaster can suck it

Filed under: bitchin' and moanin' — by Nicole @ 3:37 pm

One of my all-time favorite bands has amazingly decided to reunite and will be playing a run of 3 shows in March for the first time in years. Upon hearing this news, I immediately reserved a hotel (mind you, one that was 6 miles from the venue, as the rather well informed and tech-savvy hippies had already managed to fill up every hotel within walking distance of the arena) and went through the band’s semi-complicated pre-sale online ticket request process. In my haste and excitement to submit my request, I managed to fuck up my order and was brutally rejected out of hand. Alas, I had to suck it up and wait for the tickets to go on sale via the evil empire known as Ticketmaster.

After a particularly inebriated Friday night, I managed to awaken on time on Saturday to attempt the ticket purchase. At the stroke of 10 (am!!!), I made my move. I did as asked, deciphering the stupid distorted words that they now use to outwit scalpers (because that works so fucking well) and awaited my fate. I was informed that my wait time would be 15 minutes or more. Then, as if magic were on my side, my wait time decreased to 7 minutes. My optimism rising, I waited with baited breath. This positivity was short-lived, as my wait time skyrocketed back up to 15+ minutes. I paced, I crossed my fingers, and I made a vain attempt at patience. It was, in the end, all for naught. After ten more minutes of incomprehensibly fluctuating wait times, I was informed that the tickets I so desired were unavailable. I retreated, a broken woman, to my couch to sulk and nap, cursing Ticketmaster and the scalpers who I knew had ganked a loyal fan’s coveted tix.

I recall, several years ago, that Pearl Jam summoned up the cojones to sue Ticketmaster on antitrust grounds. As someone who inexplicably excelled in my antitrust course, I understand the fundamentals of AT theory and cannot see how, in any good conscience, that litigation did not move forward. In my mind, there is no better example of a monopoly than Ticketmaster. If someone out there has a viable argument to the contrary, I’d love to hear it. In the meantime, I have only two words to sum up this experience and my take on the company in question:

FUCK TICKETMASTER.

1 Comment »

  1. Just FYI, TicketMonster releases tickets right before the show.. a week before up until the day before.. so you can go on ticketmaster.com to try to get them.. never fear.. wendy is here!

    Comment by Wendy — October 23, 2008 @ 3:31 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

